Which Ohio Bankruptcy District Do I Live In?

Bankruptcy Attorney

Consumers preparing to file for bankruptcy should be aware that Ohio has two separate federal judicial districts. Both the Southern District and Northern District of Ohio operate under the United States Bankruptcy Court and serve individuals and companies wishing to file for bankruptcy protection. Which Courthouse you need to file your bankruptcy case with depends on your county of residence, and this article will inform you where you need to file, as well as, the residency requirements to file an Ohio bankruptcy.

Where do I File My Ohio Bankruptcy?

Ohio’s bankruptcy districts are separated by a line that runs through the middle of the state, dividing it into two separate northern and southern halves. If you live in the following counties or south of them, then you file bankruptcy petitions with the Southern District of Ohio US Bankruptcy Courts:

Darke, Shelby, Logan, Union, Delaware, Morrow, Knox, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, and Jefferson.

Alternatively, if you live in these counties in a county north of them, you file bankruptcy paperwork with the Northern District of Ohio US Bankruptcy Courts:

Mercer, Auglaize, Hardin, Marion, Crawford, Richland, Ashland, Homes, Tuscarawas, Carroll, and Columbiana.

Just because there are only two Ohio bankruptcy districts does not mean there is only one location amiable to file bankruptcy paperwork. The Southern District of Ohio is further divided into three divisions including Cincinnati, Columbus, and Dayton divisions. The Dayton bankruptcy Division servers Darke, Preble, Shelby, Miami, Montgomery, Warren, Champaign, Clark, Greene, and Clinton counties.

Ohio Bankruptcy Residency Requirements

In order to receive the state’s bankruptcy exemptions, individuals must continuously keep their primary residence in Ohio for at least two years or 720 days. If you relocated to Ohio before this period has elapsed, you must use the exemptions from the state where you lived the most time during the six months immediately before your bankruptcy filing. Lastly, in order to utilize the Ohio Homestead Exemption, individuals must have owned and lived in the home for at least 40 months before filing for bankruptcy.

Contact an Ohio Bankruptcy Lawyer

When you hire an Ohio bankruptcy attorney to represent you in your petition for bankruptcy protection, you most likely will not have to worry about filing the paperwork yourself as your lawyer will typically handle this, and many other tasks involved in your bankruptcy.

Additionally, finding an Ohio bankruptcy lawyer that works within the same division district and division ensures that you are hiring a professional with previous experience working with the bankruptcy judges and bankruptcy trustees, increasing your chances of navigating the bankruptcy process efficiently and as quickly as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *